Posted in poetry

Platonic

There is something about the way we look at each other
And somehow we both feel we are going to last forever
But the thing is you and I we are not together
It’s okay, it is good. What we have is better.

They say it is a waste because we’d make such a good story
The way we met, the way we talk, all clad in romantic glory
We have a click, a spark that can’t be denied
But to each other, you and I, we’ve just never been starry-eyed

I won’t deny I have the best and most honest talks with you
And there is a certain smile I own that I only share with you
But I’m not in love with you, but always you can trust I’m rooting for you
Love songs need not be made just because we’re two
We both know passionate affection will be the ruin of me and you

So what if what we have between us isn’t romantic
We don’t need to lock lips to know the idea is idiotic
Our story, our chemistry it’s nothing less epic
Sometimes the best relationships are the ones that are platonic

Author:

I'm a human being and perhaps that is all you need to know

Leave a comment