Posted in short story

Stealing from the Heavens

I promised her the stars. Because that is what a lover was expected to do.

Promise a bit of heaven, though I did not know why.

In my mind I thought why did we want to keep stealing from the night?

With the number of people who breathe, and love,

Won’t  the heavens run out of light if we keep stealing its pieces that shine?

But as any fool in love would do, I looked at the evening sky

As a stretched out chest of diamond pieces and knocked one

Off the heavens to give to the most enchanting face I knew.

As the star went streaking down my horizon I put my palms up

Hoping to catch a crystalline fragment, but little did I know

I should have opened my arms wide. Because what I sent

Falling from the sky, was a daughter of the night.

I had not meant to do it, but I broke some of her somehow.

I promised her I will put back all her pieces the way they were before,

She smiled and told me, “I don’t mind being rearranged a bit,

We all change, it is only a matter of time. What matters is that

We are still made of the same pieces”. I breathe thinking

I was forgiven, but then she looked into my eyes and with a

Cunning smile she whispered “You stole me from my world,

Let me steal your world from you.”

I thought I’d loved before , until I said the words

“My world is yours and so much more.”

There was something about her letting me

Fix her broken pieces that made me love her so.

Author:

I'm a human being and perhaps that is all you need to know

2 thoughts on “Stealing from the Heavens

Leave a comment